Safeguard Dialog

From Serious Sam Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Screenshot of Save changes to following files? Dialog, Serious Editor 4.0.

The safeguard dialog is a generic dialog that appears when

  • a file with unsaved changes is closed, or
  • an unnamed file is supposed to be saved.

It prevents accidental loss of editing work.

Info 16x16.png Note: Safeguard Dialogs also protect unsaved files that have been edited within the file to be closed, eg script or resource files.

If a file with unsaved changes is about to be closed, the safeguard dialog provides the following dropdown menu options for that file :

SaveChanges Dialog DDMenu.png

Info 16x16.png Note: The 'Open for edit' option appears to be redundant for custom mapping since the file is already open.


The dialog offers three ways to proceed:

  • To execute the chosen action meaning
    • either saving changes to a named file before closing it,
    • or opening a File List Dialog that lets you choose a name for an unnamed file
clicking Yes.
  • To not take any further measure click No.
  • To cancel the action that lead to the safeguard dialog
    • click Cancel,
    • click 'x' in the top right corner of the dialog, or
    • press Esc.